Call Us Today! (314) 650-8260

Proudly serving Ballwin, MO and the surrounding area since 2013

Our Reviews

Overall Verified Testimonial Score

4.99

Composite Score

Quality

Customer Service

Value

Review Date: 12/11/2018 | Author: Maureen N.

Comments: We hired Tim and Patrick to refinish our family room wood floor. We were so happy with that job, we decided to bring them back to pull up our carpet and put new wood floors in our dining room and living room. We are absolutely delighted with our new floors. We are even more delighted with how smoothly and seamlessly the project was completed. Tim and Patrick are incredibly conscientious, excellent communicators, and extremely talented at their art of creating beautiful wood floors. They arrived exactly on time each day and finished the project in the time period projected. They took great care in moving all of our furniture out of the room, and replaced it afterwards with protective padding on the bottom of all of our furniture. They were incredibly neat and clean. I did not have dust all over my house when they finished, and my new floors and rooms were pristine. It was a pleasure working with these honorable, friendly and polite gentlemen. Thank you Tim and Patrick! Also Tim and Patrick did a fabulous job refinishing my wood floor. They were incredibly responsive and professional, along with personable and delightful while working in our home. I highly recommend them and will definitely use them again should I decide to add other hardwood floors in my home.

Review Date: 08/26/2018 | Author: Heidi M.

Comments: Our house had tile in the front, wood floors put in in the 1980's (maybe) in the front of the house and wood flooring also put in about 2000 (back of the house). The wood flooring color had aged differently and some areas needed to be redone. In addition, tile in the front hall was taken out and wood floor put in and all three areas were stained and sealed to match. The front entry was laid perpendicular to the two rooms off of the entry, but it was set off by a border and a walnut strip, so it looks wonderful. Tim and Pat were meticulous in their clean up and were careful to cover everything. They were easy to have in the house and worked with me to make certain I was able to do what I needed to do, while also completing the job. Tim gave me clear instructions on how to maintain the floor and how to also protect it from damage. In addition to the flooring, they also replaced the painted baseboard. This was Tim's suggestion and it was a great idea. The new floor looks much "richer" then the old floor and the almost 60 year old baseboard (narrow and dinged up) would not have looked good.

Review Date: 05/24/2018 | Author: Brian P.

Comments: Tim and Pat are true flooring professionals in every way. They were very patient with all of our questions and with us making our decision on stain color. It was great they provided us with several actual samples on the floor so we could make the right decision. They delivered on everything they promised and more. Tim and Pat were extremely punctual and kept a very clean work environment. You could tell by their actions they cared about our home. They are just all around great guys. We had 400 sq. ft. of aluminum oxide 3/4” solid oak prefinished floors with micro bevels on the edges and 1000 sq. ft. of new 3/4” solid oak unfinished floors and wanted the bevels sanded out of the prefinished floors so the old floors would match the new when refinished. They nailed it, couldn’t have asked the floors to have turned out any better. They also nailed the finishing of the new oak stairs. The cost of the finishing of the floors was very reasonable and a great value for the all the work that went into it and the finished product. Don’t be fouled by the other guys offering cheaper prices, they use cheaper products as in oil based products that force you out of your home and many days after the work is done waiting for the dangerous fumes to dissipate. Loved the products they used which allowed my wife and I along with our 2 small children to be able to safely stay in our home in the evenings during the process eliminating the need and expense to stay in a hotel for 5 days. I highly recommend Tim and Pat and so does every one else that wrote a review, giving Tim and Pat the owners and operators of May Hardwood Flooring 5 stars across the board. Great job Tim and Pat, you deserve all the outstanding reviews. Thank you so much for our gorgeous floors.

Review Date: 08/17/2017 | Author: Debbie G.

Comments: Tim & Pat were fantastic. I never had hardwood floors and we were remodeling our condo. So I asked for their opinion and Tim took time out to suggest various types of flooring that would work for us. Tim & Pat were prompt, and did an unbelievable job. My floors look so beautiful. What true artist they are to be able to match up each piece of flooring to look the way it does. I highly recommend May Flooring , and I would greatly give them a referral. They are very professional. If I could give them more than 5 stars, I would. If anyone wanted to see what they did, they are more then welcome to come and see my beautiful floor. You may call me any time.

Review Date: 07/19/2017 | Author: Merikay W.

Comments: Tim and Pat are amazing!! They are prompt, know their product and did a superb job on our floors. They had to blend in from previous flooring and matched to perfection. When we called they promptly would return calls and made sure we were happy. They provided us with everything we need to keep our floors in good condition and explained the process. I highly recommend Tim and Pat. MKW

Review Date: 02/13/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: The responsiveness of May Hardwood Floors was unparalleled. I didn't know anything about hardwood when I bought my house. Tim took the time to explain the process, why they use the product(s) they do, how to clean the floors (and provided me with the cleaner/tools to keep my floors beautiful!), etc. Every question I had, he answered. Pat provided a great choice of stain colors for me that were perfectly in line with what I had described. The colors are PERFECT and exactly what I had pictured in my mind. The finished floors (living/dining room and 2 bedrooms) are absolutely beautiful and I feel like I understand a major characteristic of my new home so much better now. Tim sent me pictures of the process while they were working and kept me informed the entire time. They were incredibly accommodating of my schedule. The premises were left pristine upon the completion of their work. I can't say enough good things; every time I think I've thought of the thing that impressed me the most, I remember that other/the next thing they did! I cannot recommend May Hardwood Floors strongly enough.

Review Date: 01/25/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: May Hardwood Floors did an excellent job on our hardwood floor refinish. We couldn't be more pleased with the quality of the work, the finished product, and the overall experience. Tim and Pat were on time, highly professional, and did an outstanding job. From the beginning Tim walked us through the process and thoroughly explained what would be done and helped us select a color that looks great. When it came time for the work they were prompt and on schedule. We had an entry room, hallway, 1/2 bath, and kitchen floors refinished, they were in and out and completely done in a little over a day and a half. They did a complete and thorough clean up job and there was not a speck of dust anywhere when they were done. They provided pads for the furniture and cleaning supplies along with detailed instructions to care for our newly refinished floors. Overall working with May was a great experience and would highly recommend them to anyone looking to refinish their floors.

Review Date: 10/24/2016 | Author: Thomas V.

Comments: Tim and Pat did a great job refinishing our hardwood floors. Neighbors and friends are impressed as much as we are and one will call Tim for consultation. The ultimate compliment is to give a referral. I was happy to do so.

Review Date: 09/29/2016 | Author: Clive G.

Comments: If you own a home, are buying a home, or selling a home, you know that a beautiful kitchen, bathroom, or hardwood floors substantially increase the value of that home. As such, Tim and Pat May are masters at adding value to your home. We recently bought a home and had May Hardwood Floors provide us a quote and spec out the job. Their performance exceeded our expectations substantially! In fact, I started with the thought of putting in hardwood floors in our master room, but after working with Tim and Pat, experiencing the extremely high quality of their work, and the fairness of their quotes, we not only installed hardwood floors in the master bedroom, but also throughout all of the second floor. The Mays were a pleasure to work with, and the quality of their workmanship is exceptional. They did exactly what they said they would. They delivered as promised, on time, on budget, and flawlessly. In fact, when they were working on our house, we had two power outages due to storms, and a broken pipe flooded our basement. Even with all of these hurdles, they hit their schedule and went above the call of duty, and helped me with my flooded basement! From now on, the only people who will work on the floors in my house, or any future house in St. Louis I will own, are the Mays! I strongly recommend them as they put delivering on their comments, and customer service, at the top of their priorities. They are fair, honest, and extremely professional.

Review Date: 08/10/2016 | Author: Dave T.

Comments: Review by Dave T. in St. Louis, MO. We recently had our residential hardwood floors refinished by May flooring. Tim and Pat gave helpful suggestions throughout the entire process to repair problem spots that existed. They were so easy to work with, extremely professional, careful, prompt and reliable. We are very pleased with the finished product and would highly recommend their business.

Review Date: 05/26/2016 | Author: Tom G.

Comments: We had a contractor cancel our appointment twice over a 6 week period. We called Tim on a Wednesday. Pat came out and gave us an estimate on Thursday. Their price was substantially less than 2 previous bids. They were at our house on Monday. They were very professional and personable. They explained the entire process in detail. We were very concerned about the floor finish. They provided us with stain samples and we selected 1 out of 6. They gave us their opinion and we selected a natural stain. The result exceeded our expectations. They filled a couple of floor holes, they gave us pads for the furniture. In 2 days, they were finished. As to dust and cleanup, they said we would not notice any difference from when they arrived. They were correct - no dust, no debris, whatsoever. They explained when we could put rugs and furniture back down. They gave us cleaning fluids and instructions on the floor upkeep. In summary, they were outstanding from the price, to the time frame, to the cleanliness, to the recommendations - and most of all - they were the nicest 2 gentlemen we have had do work for us. Highly recommnd them to anyone installing or refinishing floors.

Review Date: 05/10/2016 | Author: Ben E.

Comments: Tim and Pat did an excellent job in refinishing my hardwood floors. I had been told that some of the spots in my floors were beyond refinishing, but Tim and Pat were able to make the spots disappear. They were here on time and completed the job a little early. Both guys kept me informed about what they were doing and why. I could not have found a better crew to do my floors.

Review Date: 05/03/2016 | Author: Marla A.

Comments: Tim and Pat are very professional and always arrived on time. They're hard workers and that shows in the final product. We actually had hard wood installed in our family room and the wood flooring in the kitchen re-finished. The two rooms connect and they matched them perfectly. You can't even tell they were installed at different times.

Review Date: 04/24/2016 | Author: Mikaela J.

Comments: Tim & Pat did an incredible job refinishing our staircase. The project including fixing some DIY issues from the previous owner as well. Tim & Pat addressed each issue & made the staircase one of my favorite features of my home. They were highly professional - arrived on time, put in a hard day's work & cleaned up after themselves. I highly recommend May Hardwood Floors! I'd certainly hire them again!

Review Date: 12/18/2015 | Author: Anne M.

Comments: They were great!

Review Date: 11/23/2015 | Author: Shirley M.

Comments: I highly recommend Tim and Pat. Very professional, they cleaned up afterwards. Most of all my oak floors look like new. What a Great job they did. I would hire them again!

Review Date: 11/17/2015 | Author: Terri Z.

Comments: We received 3 estimates from 3 different companies and May Hardwood Floors was by far the most experienced and knowledgeable. The other 2 companies, one cheaper/one more expensive were more interested in pushing their product then educating us. Tim & Pat were amazing from start to finish... I would recommend them to anyone!

Review Date: 09/25/2015 | Author: David G.

Comments: The oak floors that Pat and Tim refinished look fabulous! They repaired years-long damage to the floors of two large rooms, restoring them to a gorgeous sheen and luster that may have had them looking even better than they did when they were original 88 years ago. They also refinished a hallway floor to match the stain of the two floors and the entire upstairs now looks fantastic. I wholeheartedly recommend May Hardwood Floors to anyone for the quality of their work, their attention to detail and the ease of having this kind of work done. Both Pat and Tim were professional, timely, and quality craftsmen.

Review Date: 09/16/2015 | Author: Thomas G.

Comments: Tim listened to my comments for what I needed. Tim and Pat completed their work in a timely, professional manner and cleaned up afterwards, as he said they would. I would hire them again.

Review Date: 09/16/2015 | Author: Thomas G.

Comments: I talked with Tim about what I wanted and Tim gave me a quote and he and Pat performed their work in a timely, professional manner and cleaned up afterwards, as he said they would. If I would have had another floor to refinish I definitely would hire them again.

Review Date: 08/18/2015 | Author: Lewis D.

Comments: Tim and Pat were very professional and explained everything in detail they were going to do before they started any work. They were on time and worked very hard and completed the project ahead of schedule. They said that if there is any problem to call them and they would come over and fix whatever it was. The project turned out very nice and I am extremely pleased.

Review Date: 07/23/2015 | Author: Lannon C.

Comments: I'm a general contractor and I've used May Hardwood floors under their current business name and the one they used before, over the last several years. We do high end residential remodeling and our customers insist on the absolute highest quality. I wouldn't keep using him if I couldn't trust him to deliver quality work, at a fair price, every time.

Review Date: 07/23/2015 | Author: Carolyn A.

Comments: They matched existing floors to my new ones.